What If?

Recently, in class, we’ve started the “What If?” movement and Idea farming. We have been looking for ideas to innovate. It is also known as seed shopping or places to find seeds. Our innovation ideas are intended to feed or help other’s needs. We are given the opportunity to work with others on this innovation project.  Everyone’s innovation project is to be finished by the end of 3rd quarter to present to others. I think this is a great way for people to share their ideas and let others know of their abilities.

I’ve thought about my innovation project for a couple weeks now. Originally, since I’m in band and I play the vibraphone, I thought of pushing my instrument out to different areas and playing music for random people. That way, they can stop, listen, and enjoy free music! They would also be able to donate to fund our band for new instruments, equipment, etc. I was concerned how time consuming this would be and whether I would be able to transport my instrument around. My friends, Melanie and Mahum, are planning to bake goods and sell it to others locally and also off etsy.com. I’ve decided with them that I would be able to help film them baking, so they could share tips and tricks of baking to the world. This would be my innovation project! I’m still not 100% sure about this, so leave suggestions down below on any other innovation ideas!

2 thoughts on “What If?

  1. Hey Chelsea, Have you ever heard the quote, “Do what you love and you’ll never work a day in your life.” Well since I know how you really love playing the vibraphone, so you should play music for strangers because if you were to do something you love you would do it without dreading it. So regardless of how much you don’t want lug equipment around, I think the benefits outweighs the cost (People WILL enjoy free music, because your amazingly talented, and may even benefit the band) -Anthony:) (hoped this helped)

    • Hi there, Anthony! I have heard of that quote. And yes indeed, I love music and playing it for others! My concerns were just I’d have to get permission from my band directors to be able to use my vibraphone and let me use their trucks in order to bring it to other places. If I were to stay on my idea, I think a better alternative would be to use a piano keyboard! Thanks so much for the advice though, you definitely helped!
      -Chelsea

Leave a Reply

