Not how he died, but how he lived…

“Love is how you stay alive, even after you are gone.” ― Mitch Albom
A few days ago, a student of the Baron family in the 10th grade, was involved in a life-threatening bike incident on his way to school that cost him his life days before what would’ve been his 16th birthday. It was just too soon and his life was cut way too early. Althought I unfortunately was unable to meet him personally, I’ve heard many great things about him from fellow classmates and teachers as well. He left a legacy, something everyone could remember him by. He was always the one who enjoyed making others happy. His jokes would easily get a laugh out of someone and put a smile on others’ faces. This, in return made him happy. He cared about others’ happiness before his. He knew how to have fun and enjoy the little things about life, which most of us have yet to learn.
“One lives in the hope of becoming a memory.” ― Antonio Porchia
He got away from the daily normal routine of dragging himself to school everyday and allowed himself to experience new things. He had so much more to experience, so much ahead of him, but unfortunately for him, his life ended too soon. Just like Mr. Theriault always said, “Live for today and make today awesome”. We’re so caught up in school trying to prepare for something (college) that might not even happen. After news of the incident reached my family, my family became more tight-knit and close. We continue to treasure and look out for each other more and not take what we have for granted. Before, I usually neglect the phone calls from my mom when I was out with my friends as I would think of it as she was trying to be the “overprotective mother” she is. I soon realized that she continuously checked up on me because she cared about my safety, because it would be so hard for a parent to go through losing their child. My thoughts and prayers are with his friends and family as I’ve also experienced the loss of a loved one. The best way to deal with a situation like my classmate’s death is to acknowledge it. Have a moment of silence and take time out of your day to pray for them and their struggles. It is important to be there for those who were close to him by comforting them by simply just listening to them. Be there for even the people who did not know him, as it may bring up a past experience of the loss of close friend/family.
I began talking to a friend about my experience about my classmate’s death and I’ve began to realize to not mourn over his death. As he’s done his part in life, he would want us to live life in his memory. Continuing to be sad isn’t what he would have wanted. He would have wanted to look down and see everyone smiling in his memory.
“Death is not the opposite of life, but a part of it.” ― Haruki Murakami

Leave a Reply

