Everybody. All the time.


“Everybody. All the time.”

I was going to make this post at some point. But it’s all surreal. Just like that, the 2013-2014 season has come to a close. I can’t believe the 2014 Winter Percussion Indoor season is already over. This season has been so memorable and I’m so glad I got to spend it with an amazing group of talented people. SCPA Finals was great and we went out there and gave it our all and gave it our best. Persevering through tough times only made us that much closer. Putting in all that hard work of countless rehearsals (including Thursday night rehearsals I will miss so dearly), we put together a powerful and indescribable last performance for our audience. After they announced us as SCPA Open Class champions, I could feel the carthasis and euphoria radiating from everyone. We were all proud of what we accomplished by transforming mere black notes on a page to what we call music and to be able to perform with emotion and passion by pouring our hearts and souls out there for everyone to see. I’ve never seen a group of people so motivated by the pure love and passion for this activity.

I still remember when I came to the band room as a freshmen not knowing what WGI, SCPA, a vibraphone, or what a front ensemble even was. My family thought I was crazy to be dedicating so much of my time to this activity. I’m also glad I can say that this second family makes me look forward coming to school. When they told me to join clubs or sports and to get involved, it has made me realize that school is so much more than just straight A’s, AP courses, and stress. This activity has changed me so much in that it has been able to teach me to fight for what I love and to not ever let anyone tell me I’m not good enough. Being given the opportunity to be taught by talented instructors and performing with a  group of phenomenal people is truly a blessing. Performing for hundreds of people in high school gyms every weekend. It’s extremely exhilarating. Exchanging that last glance with fellow teammates in the arena is a feeling that there are no words for. It’s completely priceless.

While I’m at it, I would like to thank my section leader, for being a role model and always being an inspiration to me to strive for something better. There are no words to describe how grateful I am. I’m truly going to miss you Jimmy (if you’re reading this, probably not) and good luck with your future endeavors! (pssst RCC) And also a huge thank you to the parents that come out to competitions every week! Thanks for all the support from providing rides and food to cheering us on! We wouldn’t be anywhere without the parents.

I’m so thankful for all the friendships made in this activity and having the privilege to have met such amazing people. I’m glad emotions, friendships, and memories were created that I will be able to cherish for the rest of my life. I’m definitely excited for next year and for what next season has in store for me 🙂

2 thoughts on “Everybody. All the time.

Leave a Reply

